Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2010, 10:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1965 22' Safari
Shelter Island , New York
Question Price Check

Total Newbie here - shopping for a 1965 GlobeTrotter

I'm going for an in-person look and hopefully to negotiate a local purchase.

There's not too much info and only a few pictures. It looks to be cosmetically nice but the tires are shot and I'm guessing it has been sitting in the yard without seeing any maintenance for a while. The cushions and blinds are shot but to me the rest of the interior looks reasonable clean. I don't know the condition of the systems or appliances, yet.

I read the Price v. Condition pages and I think this one looks like as a pretty good condition "as found" and which would suggest $2900, but since the listing price is $3500 and the reserve isn't yet met, he clearly wants more than that.

I'm willing to pay a bit of a premium because This GT is 6.4 miles from my house and it's the size I want. But I don't want to overpay. I don't have a tow vehicle and won't till at least next spring but because it's so close I'm hoping he can deliver it and if not I think I can get somebody to pick it up for $50. I'm far east on Long Island and getting a trailer from elsewhere to here means at least 3 hours and renting something with a hitch. (although I realize that limits his market going in the opposite direction)

Any thoughts as to what I should offer and what's the most it is worth? Maybe y'all could suggest a range depending on what the inspection shows?

Dag68 (Dave)
Dag68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 06:54 AM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Welcome to the forums.