Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-28-2015, 06:05 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 Argosy 26
Twin Cities , Minnesota
Newbie looking to find and restore vintage AS

Hi all!

I recently stumbled across a blog about restoring a 70's AS. Although I've got some DIY experience (full bathroom remodels, structural fixes, etc.), I've never spent any significant time inside a trailer, let alone worked on one. And yet... I'm intrigued by the idea of fixing up an older model to live in while I'm in grad school.

I've poked around on Craigslist and the forums here, and I've looked at a couple of blogs detailing "full monty" restoration projects, but I've still got some questions. Is it doable to buy and restore an older AS for 10K or under? I'd plan on doing all the work myself and with the help of some of my handier friends. (I mentioned this off-hand to some of my maintenance tech friends, and they have already said they'd want to be part of the restoration... so that wouldn't be quite as expensive as paying an electrician to come out, for example, but factor in pizza and beer.) The goal would be to live in this full-time for a couple of years, mostly parked, but ideally with some travel time during the summers between classes. I don't need the finished result to be fancy, but I do care about functional and safe!