Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-12-2013, 07:38 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Key west , Florida
Newbie looking for Advice!

Hi all! I've been stalking the forums for a while now and I figure it's time for my first post! About me: 38 yo married mother of twins who just turned 1. We live in South Florida. Hubby and I are interested in buying our first AS. I have some RVing experience but not in an AS. I have owned a pop up van camper as well as the ugliest class C motorhome you'd ever care to see. I don't own any RVs at this time. Hubby is completely new to RVing. We would like our AS to serve two purposes. During most of the year it would be parked in our lovely wooded yard and rented out as a vacation rental to visitors to the tourist centered town we live in. During the summer and Fall we would use it to hit the road with the kids.

We are looking at our first AS on Friday and I couldn't be more excited. I know it's foolish to jump on the first one we see so I am hoping for a little advice. I've looked at the inspection checklist on this site but I must admit its pretty over my head. About the trailer: it's advertised as a 24' 1966 Landyacht. From the few photos in the ad and doing a little research and assuming it really is a '66, I suspect it's a 26' Overlander. It has the 2 twin beds in the center. The seller is the third owner and they've had it for a year. They lived in it for 5 months and didn't do much traveling and it's been stored for 6 months or so. The previous owner lived in it full time for 5-7 yrs in a trailer park here in town. He did travel in it but not much and not very far. It's been a South Florida trailer it's whole life I think.