Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2019, 10:05 AM   #21
Rivet Master

 
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to hhendrix Send a message via Yahoo to hhendrix
I have two A/C's and won't go back to a single. I have a few experiences to share.


1. Either make or buy a shorter 50 amp cord. I made a 12' cord and it works to connect to the post about 90% of the time.



2. I've done some testing with others using a propane powered Honda 2200 and a Honda 2000. One A/C will work if you install the Easy Start capacitor in one or both A/C's. However, using one A/C will be near the limits of the Honda and experiments have shown you may have to put the AS in the "store mode" so energy isn't sent to the batteries. In two cases we also switched the refer to propane. Forget using a hair dryer or even a toaster when the A/C is running. Three more factors using a generator are outside temperature, altitude, and propane powered generator. All three affect the performance.



3. The Zone 1/Zone 2 Dometic thermostat functions can be confusing, so make sure you understand it fully. There are some threads here that will help.


Bottom line, if you camp in very hot weather, you will never regret having two A/C's. I have yet to read here anyone who wished they only had one.
__________________
The ability to follow instructions is highly underrated.
Always be wary of stupid people in large numbers.
hhendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 10:10 AM   #22
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5,873
Blog Entries: 1
On my 26, two A/C's was a must have.
I'm in Florida, but even Colorado gets in the 90's during the day!
My theory was that I didn't need to run both, but it would be there when needed.
Adding the second unit is expensive, but you also get 50 amp service.
The only downside I see is you sacrifice the second Fantastic Fan.

Then buy a second power cord for when you don't want to lug out the giant 50 amp cord.
50 amp female and 30 amp male!
Mollysdad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 11:00 AM   #23
3 Rivet Member
 
cptdzl's Avatar
 
2018 27' Flying Cloud
Erie , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 101
Then buy a second power cord for when you don't want to lug out the giant 50 amp cord.
50 amp female and 30 amp male!
[/QUOTE]

Can you give me a link or mfg info? I've seen the dog bone adapters 50 to 30 but not a cord like you have pictured. Good Idea.
cptdzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 11:14 AM   #24
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,455
Images: 7
I would go for 2 when you need the second unit you will be glad you have it.


My other half does not like a hot camper when she is uncomfortable everyone is uncomfortable.
__________________
Garry
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 12:07 PM   #25
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,617
Hi

Our first experience with "why do you need two" was in New Jersey. (not exactly the Deep South ). It was over 100 degrees in the parking lot and humidity was up in the 90% range. With one running out in the sun, the inside of the trailer was *very* uncomfortable.
Indeed this was our first few hours in the trailer when we picked it up ....

Since then, we have been careful about shade if it's a 30A site and "must be 50A" if there is any doubt.

Keep in mind that the 30A setup is 30A at 120V. The 50A connection is 50A at 240V. Comparing same to same you are looking at 30A vs 100A. There's a *lot* more power in the 50A hookup.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 12:46 PM   #26
Cobalt
 
Cobalt's Avatar
 
2019 25' International
Anywhere , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptdzl View Post
So with 2 running is it twice as loud? I also choose to chase 70ļ weather I deduce that 2 units is more popular and would have more value on trade-in/sale when moving up?

MY current 50 amp coach has an energy management (load shedding)system for when its running on 30 amps, how does AS handle this? Is it up to Me the operator not to overload the circuit?

Thanks for your input
No, if the AC units are identical, should only increase sound level by 3 dBa. On the same vein, in my opinion, yes, they are loud, but you get used to it. Iíve been awakened many times when the heater units cut on. Finally, I would not get an AS without two units, in the size I have (25í), makes a difference.
Cobalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 04:05 PM   #27
3 Rivet Member
 
Bbelk's Avatar
 
2010 27' FB Classic
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 179
I just added the second unit to my 27FB. I added a second 30 amp service rather than converting to 50. This way I can run either unit and still use my existing generator and the Front shore power plug. On the days when I need both air conditioners at the same time, I run two cords. 30 amp cords are lighter and cheaper and I carry two of them anyway with one of them living in the back of the truck with the generator.
__________________
2010 27FB Classic
1989 190 Class B (Sold)
1977 29 Ambassador Land Yacht (Sold)
Bbelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 08:17 AM   #28
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,617
Hi

Speaking of noise:

One trick when you have two is to only run the one for the area you are *not* in. Then run a small fan to keep the air moving. Even without tricks with the A/C, a small fan is a good idea. Less noise and it lets you run the A/C at a higher setting (since it cools you a bit).

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 09:21 AM   #29
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,442
We are currently camped at Cattail Cove State park in Arizona. Today it will hit 100 degrees. I'm in a 30 Classic with two 15,000 btu ACs. When we arrived yesterday we discovered only 30 amp service.

I installed an Easystart on the front AC on last year's trip. I plugged in and fired up both AC's on 30 amp, no problems!!! It's been running all day yesterday and currently on now. I am watching that I'm not overpowering it with convection oven and such, but so far it is working perfectly!

I do have a surge protector on the line and everything seems to be just fine.
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
Tom & Doty
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 11:18 AM   #30
Rivet Master
 
2018 28' International
Fayetteville , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post
Hi

Our first experience with "why do you need two" was in New Jersey. (not exactly the Deep South ). It was over 100 degrees in the parking lot and humidity was up in the 90% range. With one running out in the sun, the inside of the trailer was *very* uncomfortable.
Indeed this was our first few hours in the trailer when we picked it up ....

Since then, we have been careful about shade if it's a 30A site and "must be 50A" if there is any doubt.

Keep in mind that the 30A setup is 30A at 120V. The 50A connection is 50A at 240V. Comparing same to same you are looking at 30A vs 100A. There's a *lot* more power in the 50A hookup.

Bob
50 amp service is still 120 volt. You have two 50 amp legs, but always at 120V
brick
brick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 08:09 PM   #31
2 Rivet Member
 
2019 25' Flying Cloud
Bozeman , Montana
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 54
Two ACs on mine. Didnít go out of my way looking for that with a 25í but knew about it and recognized the value. Now that I have it I wouldnít want it any other way. The double heat pump is sure nice when it is chilly (note not cold) and youíre on the grid. I crank the heat up for luxury without worrying about LP use.

On the cord front I hate my 50amp cord. I have a 20 amp pig tail and a contractor grade extension cord I use with the Honda 2200 or to plug-in to keep the batteries charged. Much easier to deal with and it lets me run a longer cord to reach the generator in the back of the truck even when it is facing away from the camper. Makes it really quiet when battery charging and boondocking.
mtbackpacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 06:20 AM   #32
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by brick1 View Post
50 amp service is still 120 volt. You have two 50 amp legs, but always at 120V
brick
Hi

The 50A label applies to the 240V service it delivers. You use it as two 50A circuits and get 100A at 120V. It is no different than any 240V circuit you might run into in the US or Canada.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 09:20 PM   #33
Cobalt
 
Cobalt's Avatar
 
2019 25' International
Anywhere , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 44
So if I have a 50a AS and have to use a 30a service, can I still run both A/C units if I donít have the Easy Start? Iíve not added it and Iím original owner.
Cobalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 06:06 AM   #34
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobalt View Post
So if I have a 50a AS and have to use a 30a service, can I still run both A/C units if I donít have the Easy Start? Iíve not added it and Iím original owner.
Hi

Yes, you can. You will destroy your A/C units doing that and possibly start a fire. Depending on the condition, specs, and age of the breaker on the post, you may or may not trip it. All of that is only if the converter / charger is disconnected.

*Can* is not the same as *should*.

The two A/C each pull about 15A when running. They pull way more than that at startup. 2x 15 = 30A and that is right at the limit for a 30A circuit on a continuous basis. If you just pulled into a site, the converter / charger might be pulling 8A. You are now up to 38A on your 30A circuit. A breaker with a 10% tolerance on it might be ok with 31 or 32 A, it's not going to like 38A.

Best practice is to stay below 80% of a circuit's ratings. That would be 24A in this case. There are more combo's than just the "run two A/C's" that will get you past that on a 30A plug. One of the many reasons for going with two A/C's is that they throw in the 50A. With that there aren't any combo's you have to worry about.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd a/c failed for 2nd time Bgibbs Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 15 01-02-2019 05:23 PM
Intro and V6 question for towing stanf Member Introductions 2 04-29-2010 09:16 PM
Intro AND question bell Member Introductions 3 03-09-2007 05:29 PM
Intro and Question? iowajones Member Introductions 2 01-07-2006 11:01 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.