Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2008, 12:43 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2005 22' Safari
Oakland , California
Send a message via AIM to bluegabs
nervous, excited and taking the plunge...

hi guys, im a noob here, in all aspects.

ive spent months reading thru these forums, trying to get as educated as i can about this aluminum lust ive had with me for as long as i can remember.
ive eyeballed for sale listings, for what seems like forever & have even looked at airstreams for sale, knowing full well i couldnt buy.. just to simply get inside. and as a 9 year BM veteran, ive always done my best to go molest any airstream in sight on the playa & really got a feel for what i was after... new/ vintage/updated or restored, etc. i am SO hooked.

fortunately for me, im now financially in a place where i can satisfy this lust &
right now im in the works of what im thinking is a pretty good deal on a nifty lil 77' safari.

ill be checking it out in person in a week or so, ive been sent a kazillion pictures & many happily answered detailed questions from the owners. in fact, im almost feeling as if im annoying or pushy with all my requests & questions ( not based on anything theyve said, of course)

SO...ive got my checklists and am trying to figure out everything i need to be looking for.. not so much to know *if* im going to buy it, but more so to know what, if anything, i REALLY need to get handled right away before we can happily hit the road. i know there will be a certain amount of maintenance & bits needed to be done right away & im fine with that. ive got time, ive got the funds, ive got a place for it to be stored & ive got a fever to hit the road.

so far, the major major appliances have been replaced & everything looks smashing. the couple has redone the soft stuff inside (tho i might still re-do that myself).