Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-02-2013, 03:58 PM   #1

1968 30' Sovereign
el paso , Texas
Help! need pros and vets for first time appraisal and purchase

As my father would say, when your out of your abilities refer to the old guys. They have answers. This is my first airstream and I need the pros to guide me through this purchase. Long story short, I'm a veteran, divorced, child support allimomy, its to minimize. I'm retiring medically from the army and school will require a home is couple different locations for months at a time. Link to the add follows. I'm looking for questions to ask the seller, appraisal angles, and whatever is on your mind. Anything is greatly appreciated!

1968 Airstream Land Yacht

I'll take a trip to the airstream and take pictures and post those as well. If anyone could tell me what to take pictures of, this would be great.
vinnybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 05:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 23' Safari
1977 23' Safari
2018 25' Flying Cloud
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
You'll definitely need new tires. It looks like a standard 115V fridge, so you'll always need to park in an RV park or otherwise have power. There is damage to the front dome on the curb side of the front window, not terrible, but something that you won't be able to clean up easily.

The inside looks entirely original. This is only good if you intended to restore it. You will find that you'll want to remove all the carpeting, at a minimum. Surprisingly, the foam is probably still usable, but a lot of people replace that as soon as they can.

Things to ask: