Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-16-2002, 10:23 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1982 34' Limited
Tidewater , Virginia
Buying used Airstream

I am a newbie that has been looking at Airstream trailers for several months. I had seen a fairly comprehensive article describing the pitfalls of the older Airstream. Since I have located a '76 Soverign 31' trailer I would like to give the vehicle a good review with some sort of expert advice at my disposal. Does anyone know where I can download a comprehensive checklist of things to look for or out-for.

Thanks in advance for your kind assistance.

Dinoburb, '82, 2500, 454 w/Holley 950 Fuel Injection.
It'll pull, now I need something to pull!
dinoburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2002, 06:50 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1972 31' Sovereign
High Springs , Florida
Send a message via AIM to Pick
I'll jump start this....

Welcome to Airstreamforums.com!

From my own experience:
1. Check the axles, go to www.inlandrv.com , Andy has a good article on how to determine axle condition.
2. Rear end sag, or "saggy bottom". Rear part of the shell becomes seperated from the floor. Could be caused by several things, mostly wheels and hubs out of balance, causing vibration, that works things loose.