Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-03-2017, 04:30 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Ellensburg , Washington
Are we crazy?

Hello all, my name is Ryan, and in short we have been talking about an AS for two weeks now and already want to buy one. Family of four (kids are 4 and 1.5), and have zero experience with an RV/AS/etc. We have always tent camped and greatly enjoy it. Grew up in FL, then lived in WA for 4 years and CO for 3 years before coming back to FL.

I am a professor and my wife (former elementary school teacher) is a stay at home mom who is going to homeschool/unschool the kids. One of the amazing things about the job is the flexibility, have 3 months off in the Summer, a week long Fall break in Oct, a week long Spring break in March, and 3+ weeks at Christmas. FL is beautiful for a lot of reasons but our hearts are out West and that is where we go for the entire Summer when I am not teaching (try to beat the FL heat). We have family places in Big Sky, MT and the San Juan Islands in WA, and stayed there almost the entire time last Summer. Will certainly continue to visit there, but want to see more.

I just joined the Forum and have tried to read a lot of great material that has been said by all. Most of which says to rent first, attend shows, rent more, get a feel for everything, figure out what you really want/need. Then finally make the decision on what to do. All seems like great advice and completely sensible. Maybe we are just excited and need to cool down, but we absolutely love the idea of owning an AS a having the ability to chart our own course during the large flexible time I have off work.

Are we nuts?