Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
yorkville , Illinois
anyone squeeze a family of 4 in a smaller trailer?

Just wondering if the small ones (bambi etc... 17-22 foot range)
can squeeze 2 adults and 2 kids? I don't see many small ones and I am still learning. It would be easier to store and tow the small ones. I am OK with remodeling and would prefer to have somewhere for everyone to sleep even if on the floor.

Any ideas?

thanks!
Karen
AS wannabe
Old 10-29-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
_

. , .
hi karen...

there are many threads on size/family/fitting/needs/floor plans that seem BIGGER...

but a general observation in rving is...

the smaller the trailer, the MORE people, kids and dogs come out the door!

so yes 4 can fit in the little ones...

just don't expect the holding tanks to contain all of the, ah, um, discharge...

cheers
2air'

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 03:58 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2001 16' Bambi
2013 23' International
Piedmont Region , North Carolina
It can be done...........

squeeze 2 adults and 2 kids? would prefer to have somewhere for everyone to sleep even if on the floor.

Karen,

I have let my nephew and his wife use my 16' with the 2 kids on the floor. It is a bit of a squeeze, guess it depends on the size of the kids as to how many nights they would be comfortable with doing it. They stayed in it for 4 nights.

Also, depends on the floor plan. If either of the adults needed to use the head during the night it would have meant figuring out how to get there without smashing one of the kids. My bed is up front, head in the rear.

If you go more towards the 22' range, it will probably be much better if you need to accomodate 4 people on a regular basis.

TB