Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2019, 04:07 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2020 19' Caravel
Seattle , WA
3rd party inspection on a brand new Airstream

Hi, I am in the process of purchasing a brand new 19' Caravel. I am in Seattle area, but the dealer is in Oregon (about 4.5 hours each way). Since I am new to AS and RV, I have zero knowledge if I should be inspecting the AS at pick up. Is it recommended to arrange inspection by a third party inspector prior to pick up? I am not sure the importance of inspection if the AS is covering 3 years for warranty. Please let me know!
Latte-Mocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 04:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
Salem , Oregon
I assume you are purchasing from Airstream NW. Can you not have them deliver it to their Seattle store?

I don't think a third party inspection is that important on a new unit. Just don't let them rush you and make sure everything works. I mean everything, stove, air, heat, refigerator, lights.

This time of year if something is wrong it might be fall before they fix it. Dave
NoResults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 04:57 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 25' Flying Cloud
Airstream - Other
Airstream - Other
North Central Texas , USA
You mention that you are new to both Airstream and RVing. From my experience it takes some time before a person becomes comfortable with using and understanding the various systems and components of an RV. Airstreams, as with all Rv's have their own character.

I personally don't think an 'inspector' is necessary for delivery of a new Airstream/RV but having an experienced person with you can make the experience a bit more comfortable.