Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-10-2011, 06:33 PM   #1

Warwick , New York
2011 28' Serenity Purchase

Newbie here, we have had a super lite 5th wheel for 4 years, it needs major repairs/a defect that the manufacturer refused to address. We decided to get a new unit rather than throw $8K down a hole to repair our unit. Initially we were looking at a replacement 5th wheel, our TV is an '08 Tundra, so we were limited to very light units, which don't seem to be well made at all.
So we started investigating Airstream as a longer term option that we could tow with our Tundra. We saw a few units Friday at a dealer which were smaller, 25' and 27'; they were very nice but small, much different than our SOB 5'ver.
We spoke to another dealer for a price on the 2011 Serenity 28' and were quoted $63K for a unit with a MSRP of $83K. Includes solar charger (over 2K?), awning pkg, BR tv and convection mw. How do we know this is the actual MSRP? It seem that the numbers vary a great deal from listing to listing online, and NADA quotes $76K without options, so would those options raise the number $7K?
If $83K is a true value for the MSRP, it seems to be a great deal, 24% off. We are going to see the 28' Serenity tomorrow. This is so much higher than we were planning on spending, but it will be a forever camper for us. Thanks for any insight--
Nessie
nessie1020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 06:46 PM   #2

2006 19' International CCD
Olathe , Kansas