Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-01-2017, 02:07 PM   #1

Ormond beach , Florida
Opinions on the value of this AS greatly appreciated!!!

Hi all! My husband and I have been interested in purchasing an airstream for causal weekend use and a further (3 years down the road) cross country trip for about 6 mo with our 4 kids (want to wait until youngest gets older). I have been lurking on here a lot just trying to gain knowledge and see what trailers are running. Since a new model is way out of our $ range we decided to look for a 80s or so trailer that needed sprucing up but not a ton of structural work. We intended to retro fit it with double bunk beds. Then this ad popped up out the blue...not only is the trailer located less than 1 hr from me but it is already 1/2 way completed WITH double bunks.

Being that I am a newbie I am not sure how to interpret this listing...I was hoping a few seasoned ASers would share knowledge with me and weigh in on this trailer. Is this a rare find? Opinions on the value? Any questions I should ask?

(I did inquire about the axles and frame which were recently fixed during a shell off restoration)

Thank you in advance for any help!

http://www.airstreamclassifieds.com/...-29-florida-2/
Megwuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 06:55 PM   #2
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
I think it is at best a $10k trailer. There is a pile of work to do there. Personally, I would not be interested in an "all electric" trailer unless it was gonna be set up as a park model.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 08:14 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
N/A , N/A
Agreed. I would not pay more than $6000 for this trailer. Also, you are looking at dozens of hours of work and/or thousands of dollars of extra cost to make the trailer camp ready.
rostam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 08:26 PM   #4