Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-30-2017, 10:50 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Toronto , Ontario
Need help assessing a restoration project in Toronto, CA

Hi Everyone,

I am a first time who wants to purchase a vintage trailer for a full renovation. I have never done this before so from what I understand I am now just looking for a solid frame to work from. I found the following (1975 Sovereign 31) trailer and wanted to see if the community thinks its worth the 5K the seller is asking and if it is a good starting point for a full reno for a first timer. I would be looking to gut the whole thing and keeping the shell.

Thank you!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	288927.jpg
Views:	298
Size:	175.8 KB
ID:	297977   Click image for larger version

Name:	694848.jpg
Views:	266
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	297978  

Name:	766594.jpg
Views:	291
Size:	118.4 KB
ID:	297979   Click image for larger version

Name:	43.jpg
Views:	313
Size:	94.3 KB
ID:	297980  

Name:	20.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	460.2 KB
ID:	297981   Click image for larger version

Name:	22.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	182.5 KB
ID:	297982  

Name:	25.jpg
Views:	308
Size:	227.9 KB
ID:	297983   Click image for larger version

Name:	28.jpg
Views:	318
Size:	273.3 KB
ID:	297984  

olgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 12:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the Forums.

Well, it sounds like you have roughly the right expectations, which is, when you buy a vintage trailer, you are essentially just buying the shell, because most of the rest of it will have to be repaired or replaced.