Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-28-2017, 02:39 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Las Vegas , Nevada
Is Bigger Really Better?

Well, maybe a better question - is bigger more expensive?

I'm new to the neighborhood and am actively looking at taking the AS plunge. I'd very much like to use my '08 Tahoe Hybrid as a TV so anything with a loaded weight of 6K lbs will work. Unfortunately, the larger and heavier AS rigs seem to represent more value for the purchase dollar. And to make my search more challenging, weight variances based on overall length and cost are all over the place. Hoping to find something 24' to 28' with a twin bed config. Anything shorter will be too cramped and anything longer will be too heavy.

I'm very confused. I've been through this thread top to bottom and still don't have a clue about where I should be looking. Your sage advice is most welcome.
acemakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 03:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2019 27' Flying Cloud
Kansas City , Missouri
Maybe this thread has some information you may find useful.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f295...-a-136645.html

Piggy Bank
Piggy Bank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 03:49 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
I would first have the question towing with the Hybrid answered by someone with real experience before I wold select a trailer.

I have talked to telephone employees that had their service truck replaced with Hybrids comment they had much poorer mileage and no power.

But if you into the Greenee thing that may not be a consideration.

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 04:36 PM   #4
Dazed and Confused

Currently Looking...
1983 31' Airstream310
Hillsburgh , Ontario
If you're going to purchase an AS, I would get the trailer you want and need, opposed to one that will work with your 10 year old vehicle.