Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-08-2016, 09:15 PM   #1

1967 26' Overlander
Tucson , Arizona
Smile Advice on Airstream Purchase

Hi,
I'm a newbie on the site. I'm looking for some advice on buying a vintage airstream. What are the major things I should look for and ask about before I purchase an Airstream? I know to look for mold, rust, water rings (leaks). I've been searching for an airstream for several months but it seems that I either miss the opportunity or the airstream would be too big of a project for me.

I found this airstream on Craigslist and it seems like a fair deal. Any opinion and/or advice would be greatly appreciated? Also, what would you offer? I hope to one day actually be a part of the airstream community and not a "wanna" be?

Thanks, Meagan M.

https://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/rvs/5482401795.html
Meagan0316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 10:29 PM   #2

1968 17' Caravel
Battle Ground , Washington
Hi Meagan, welcome to the obsession.

Your best bet is to go look at that trailer and crawl through it to see what you find. Poke around everywhere. Even better would be to take someone along who knows what they are doing. You may be able to find a forum member in the area who is able to help with an inspection.

This link might help answer some of your questions
http://vintageairstream.com/frequent...s-faqs/buying/

Good luck!

Stefrobrts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 11:45 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Middletown , California