Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-28-2010, 08:18 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2009 25' FB Flying Cloud
Mercer Island , Washington
Used Airstream Market Observations

As I wound down my 6-month trailer search this week, a few observations from an Airstream newbie on the state of the used AS market during this economic reset. While I'm new to Airstreams, I'm quite experienced at buying new and pre-owned luxury vehicles. I found the past year to be anything but the buyers market I expected and this was mostly due to the following:
  • Most Airstream owners seem to have no clue what the going street price is for their rig. Many of the private owners with 2006-2008 models had asking prices higher than dealers and several with 2-year old campers listed a higher number than a dealer's listed sale price on a new trailer. Owners on their 3rd Airstream tended to be more knowledgable regarding pricing than the 1st or 2nd time owners to whom I spoke.
  • Owners with 2-3 year old financed trailers are likely to be underwater. Dealers have told me a lot of 100% financing went on during the bubble. These private sellers are required to price their trailers to cover their RV loan - even if that price is $8k above the going street price and they've had their RV on the market for 7 months.
  • Airstreams depreciate. I know they're iconic and hold their value better than other trailers, but newer Airstreams do go down more than $2500 a year, especially in this market. You wouldn't know that by looking at recent asking prices for 2007 and 2008 models from private sellers.