Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2014, 08:45 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2005 28' Safari
formerly of Tustin, Huntington Beach, Dana Point, and Laguna Beach , California
Typical monthly expenses?

I'm a noob here and about to pull the trigger on becoming a full-timer. Wife and I are leaving the apartment life and rat race and joining the AS community but have no clue as to what lies ahead. We are not big spenders and are used to living simply and doing without. We will have a monthly income of about $2,400/month from a rental property but aim to find jobs on the road here and there, or longer if we find a small town we love. We're starting from southern California and want to make our way up through Utah, Colorado, and maybe Montana, Boise, and Oregon. Our plans are to purchase an AS in the next three months and unfortunately start out right before the winter months as rookies. Our first destination is St. George to winter with a close family friend living in town.

I did a search for "typical monthly expenses" but didn't get anything specific; I apologize if this is a repeat thread but I'd appreciate any input since I have NO IDEA what expenses are like on the road. We plan to stay at the more expensive campgrounds (i.e., $35-$50/night) one or two nights per week, and dry camp the rest to save money. We'd like to visit smaller towns in these states and hopefully find jobs. I'm a 55-year old geologist but want to try something else - anything else, including dishwashing. I have this romanticized idea of gaining new work experiences. My 48-yr old wife is a good cook. We hear stories and wonder if there's a lot of age discrimination out there.

Also, is there affordable health insurance out there? I've always had health insurance through my company and have never been without it.

Thanks in advance for any insight you can offer!