Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2016, 12:52 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Jacksonville , Florida
Talk me out of it.

Good afternoon. I've been shopping for about 2 months now. I started wanting a 22 sport and after discussion I decided on a new tow vehicle and something larger. Now I'm looking at 25 or 27 foot. It will more less be my work home for the next couple years.

Looking a prices has made me consider a normal travel trailer like this one:
http://www.dixierv.com/2017-grand-de...er-la-i1915208

At $30k I can't get near a new trailer unfortunately. So I'm looking at early 2000s 27fbs. I really want and airstream and to be part of the community but it's really hard for me to pull the trigger.

Has anyone really had this debate with themselves or said to themselves "Self, I love my airstream I just wouldn't ever want to live in it long term"??
Usnroberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 01:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari
St. Augustine , Florida
I have to laugh because I have had the same thoughts though a different situation. First, I believe your decision to go bigger for living in it for two years is wise. Most peeps would struggle living in a 22' model- not to say that some don't but that the smaller you go the more you sacrifice. The added four feet of a 25 or six feet of a 27 make a big difference.

I started wanting a Winnebago View 24' motorhome. Then after shopping used and seeing them trashed BUT still being sold for more than half of the new price I started rethinking it all. I read about Airstreams, visited the dealer a few hours away twice, went to two RV shows that year and ended up buying a used 25' model that I am very happy with.