Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-05-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
Rivet Master

Livingston , Texas
Propane prices

Why hasn't the prices of propane decreased like natural gas?

Man, $27 each for 2 x 30 lbers.

At least my place is offering 1 free tank fillip with the purchase of 10.
Old 11-05-2012, 09:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1981 27' Excella II
mays landing , South Jersey
I'm not that good at math but I think you're paying for that free tank a couple of times. Some of the professors on the forum will figure it out exactly. Sal
TAC N.J. 17
WBCCI 24740
noreen&sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:56 AM   #3
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Oddly enough, the U-Haul where I stock up on propane for my Interstate has two separate prices, one for portable tanks $4.10 per gallon (about $0.95 per pound); one for Flexible Fuel Vehicles $2.77 per gallon (about $0.65 per pound). Since my Interstate has a built-in tank, they charged me the FFV price. Lucky!

Anyway, your question prompted me to do a bit of research on the Department of Energy's web page. Here are two quotes:

Quote:
A unique feature of propane is that it is not produced for its own sake, but is a by-product of two other processes, natural gas processing and petroleum refining.