Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-10-2017, 07:17 PM   #1
jbt

tallahassee , Florida
Flipper "ethics"

<rant on>

I very recently looked at an Airtream to potentially buy. I've done some moderate renovations on a couple of Airstreams so although I'm no expert, I'm certainly a knowledgeable potential buyer. The seller said great but I didn't expect great. I found a rig that would make a good project, basically all there, pretty nice skin, functional. Major floor rot aft, as usual, covered over with pieces of raw plywood screwed over the old rotten plywood. I only checked aft as I knew there would be more and a major subfloor repair plus finish floor would be in order. I could tell there was frame rust, as would be expected, but when I tried to further inspect under the cover plywood, requiring the removal of one screw to gain access to the frame, the seller's wife pitched a fit so I let it go. Windows were Creation and in need of full rebuild (with no parts available). Reported "new" tires were five years old. The A&E awning, again a product with no parts availability, had been ripped off at some point and then reinstalled with large amounts of caulking covering the mounting areas. I'd dealt with this very situation before and the damage to the skin was substantial. Everything, windows, compartment doors, rivet heads, tail lights, smeared with great amounts of silicone caulking. Again, I've dealt with that very situation but it is exceedingly time consuming to remove and properly seal. All door & window gaskets, exterior lights, tail light fixture, pretty much everything needing replacing. At this point you get the picture, an Airstream, good bones, viable but a major project.