Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2017, 03:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

PA , Pennsylvania
Dealer in southwestern PA

Hi. I am a first time buyer. I was looking at renting initially for 8-10 weeks this summer but the cost is between 7 & $10,000. With some trepidation, I am now thinking about buying a used Interstate Lounge. What dealers do you recommend in my area? I will not be able to service anything myself so service is important.

I spoke to someone at Colonial today but I sure would like to find a dealer closer to me near Pittsburgh. If there isn't one close, then I will open my search up nationally and would appreciate recommendations.

I am nervous about inspection of the unit since I am a newbie. So perhaps an area where there are inspectors available from this forum would also be appreciated.

With Gratitude,

Melissa
melann_31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 04:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
There was a dealer called Airstream of Western PA, just east of Pittsburgh, but they went out of business last year. The sales and service offices have been taken over by this firm I believe:

http://www.rangertrailer.com/

. . . and it is my understanding that the AS service shop crew still works for Ranger, but don't quote me. Not sure what they sell at this point.

At the risk of raining on your parade, buying a used Interstate is a risky proposition for a newcomer in my personal opinion, unless you can buy a fairly recent model which is still covered by the manufacturers' [plural] warranties [plural] -- i. e. Airstream and Mercedes for the drive train.