Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2015, 01:39 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2020 26' Flying Cloud
Rockbridge Baths , Virginia
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
Satellite Install

Looking to install satellite receiver in 2015 Classic. I plan to use portable antenna and would like to know if anyone has had any experience in this. The cabinet where the DVD player is located looks complicated to disassemble and it appears that the receiver will have to be placed on top to be able to control. I believe I will need a 2x4 hdmi switch and another outlet for the receiver.
SC RVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 03:31 PM   #2
TonyG
 
TonyGuyer's Avatar
 
2015 30' Classic
Cave Creek , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
We have a DishNetwork Receiver placed on top of the DVD Player. The Television has a another separate HDMI port available (we use the HDMI 3 port on the TV for Satellite) so you don't necessarily need an HDMI switch.

Right now we just run the cord outside the cabinet to the Television when we watch satellite, however, it appears the cord could be routed down the same path in the wall as the DVD HDMI cord. I attempted this once with no success, but I believe it can be done. As soon as it cools off in in Arizona, I plan to get that done myself.

The top of the cabinet to the DVD comes off with four screws. You are right in that you will need a 2 to 1 power plug as there are only two inverter outlets available in the cabinet with 3 items to be powered (DVD, External Television Air Antenna, and the Satellite Receiver).
TonyGuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 07:30 PM   #3
BAB
Rivet Master
 
BAB's Avatar
 
2015 30' Classic
2012 28' International
Greensboro , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,674
I addded a Winegard Travl'r to the roof of my Classic. Realize you're going to use the portable antenna, but we really like having the DirecTV. You are right about difficulty in accessing the area above the BluRay, which is the logical spot for your sat receiver. Because every cabinet is installed as a unit, it is virtually impossible to access that space without removing the refrigerator -- which is (as you know) in the adjacent compartment. Well, almost. There's another cabinet that interferes -- the one that holds the TV. So, you have multiple layers of wood to get through. (Don't ask me how I know this.) Because I was installing 600W of solar panels, and a 30 amp inverter, it was necessary for me to remove the refrigerator to access the space above what you can get to from the outdoor compartment. Unless you are really comfortable with removing panels, wiring, and hold down screws (fridge), I wouldn't tackle this project. It is also VERY, VERY heavy -- and I got pretty sweaty just thinking about chipping the cherry hardwood. Doing a custom install up in that cabinet is just not easy.
__________________
_________________
"SilverLeaf II" 2015 30' Classic
2019 RAM 2500 Limited 4x4 CC w/6.7L Cummins
ProPride 3P
AIR# 58452
WBCCI # 3430-Unit 21
BAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:00 PM   #4
2020 Classic 33
 
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,708
Images: 1
SC you simply need to get to the outdoor coax which is tucked into the DVD player mounting case. I put the RX on the shelf. Bought a power strip and set it to the right of the DVD mounting base.

Depending on which HDMI switch is installed you may or may not need a larger switch. Only way to know for sure is to remove the 4 screws holding the DVD mount and see what is installed. If you need another switch then Amazon. What you probably need is a 2 X ??.

My original switch went bad and the switch I got from AS as a replacement was a 2x4. I use three inputs, DVD, Sat and a cable to hook to my iPad for movies. Pretty nice unit as each TV can watch a different feed.
__________________
Gary
2020 Classic 33 Twin, 2019 Ram 3500 Longhorn, ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 03:35 PM   #5
New Member
 
Town & Country , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Smile

I encountered the same problem installing a Dish Network receiver in our 2016 Classic. The Owner's manual says that there is a satellite pig tail and a 2 pin power/ground connector under the Blu-Tay player. No power but the satellite pig tail was there. I disconnected the HDMI going from the blue-ray player into the splitter and connected the receiver instead. I connected another HDMI cable to blu-ray player and kept it on top of the receiver and we will connect it into one of the HDMI inputs on the TV if we actually use the Blu-Ray player (which we have not as of yet).

Chris Barclay
2016 Classic 30
2015 GMC Sierra Denali 2500 Diesel
chrisstl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite dish install FunWaggin Sprinter and B-van Forum 15 07-16-2015 12:12 PM
Best AS Dealer in Florida to Install Satellite TV Antenna? Rick75 On The Road... 4 10-08-2014 08:28 AM
Satellite Install 1987_345 Classic Motorhomes 1 05-06-2013 01:22 PM
Satellite Radio Antenna Install HCoover General Repair Forum 5 02-27-2013 04:40 PM
Satellite Radio Antenna Install Toronto_Guy Audio, Video & TV 11 03-06-2009 05:08 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.