Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping > Full-Timing
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-16-2014, 04:37 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Culpeper , Virginia
Airstream full time design.

Hi everyone.

I've been lurking on your forums for some time now and I finally decided to take the plunge and make an account.

I'm a former combat veteran, now a recent college grad with a degree in Agriculture. I work in a greenhouse complex and farm on the side.

You've all seen these posts and so have I. "I want to full time in an airstream!" Well, I do. I live in PA right now and I pay 950 a month for a one bedroom apartment. I spend another 200 in gas each month. My cable and utility bills are crazy. The greenhouse industry doesn't save that much. Since it's difficult to negotiate a raise these days, I negotiated a quazi-raise. I got them to allow me to park and live on the premises at the greenhouse.

Now, when I say greenhouse I don't mean a hoop house. I mean a huge complex. We even make our own pellets to feed our boiler that we heat the ranges with. NOTE: I will not be crusin' around the USA with this baby. It will sit in one of two places. Work or farm.

What I'm looking to do: I want to purchase an old 31'-34' Airstream of Spartan trailer I can tow. My objective is to park it at the greenhouse, use their facilities (ie: septic, electricity, internet, water (may or may not be an issue).

How I want to go about doing it: Ideally, I like the look of airstreams and spartans. I have the time and the workshop at work to be able to do any of the necessary upgrades and construction.

What I'd like to see:
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting/TV Area
  • Eating area
  • Work station (possibly could be my eating area, prefer not).