Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-26-2010, 01:52 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1995 36' Land Yacht Widebody
Conroe , Texas
Roof problem - white chalk run off

I have 1995 36ft DP Land Yacht Clipper. I have looked on the roof, but not climbed onto it. The manual talks about weight limit of 155 lb, I am 210 and do not want to cave in the roof, so my question is should I lay some board down to distribute my weight or just stay off. The roof is not leaking but I do think it needs help, cleaning and sealing to stop the while residue from washing down. Has any one dealt with my problem and how did you fix it? I am new to the form. THANKS
whitcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 02:00 PM   #2
x

XXXX , XXXX
The white chalk you speak of is the rubber roof itself. You can get rubber roof cleaner to clean the roof. Regular maintenance and cleaning will keep the amount of chalking down to a minimum.
There is a brand of rubber called RV2000 that is guaranteed not to break down from UV exposure and will not chalk.
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 02:01 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Between Here , And There
Roof Limits

Whit not sure about the weight limits of your Airstream but I use a piece of 1/4" plywood that I glued non skid shelf liner to one side. You know the stuff that comes in a roll and is real rubbery. This seems to distribute the weight sufficiently for my Travel Trailer and does not slip when in use. Beats having to loose 55lbs.
fltlevel510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:51 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1995 36' Land Yacht Widebody
Conroe , Texas
Thanks everyone.