Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-08-2010, 11:58 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1994 34' Legacy 34
Lake Village , Indiana
hard brakes '94 land yacht LA

hi,

newbie here, just bought '94 land yacht 34 foot Legacy motorhome and drove it home. Seller said had newer brakes and front rotors.

never drove one before.

brake pedal did stop the thing ok and did not go to the floor (34 footer) however, brake pedal effort seems hard, not like power brakes of a modern car, more like the manual brakes of
pre-power brake era, like the '54 chevy i drove in high school.

is this just they way they're supposed to feel, or should i have it checked out?
thanks!
ducatist2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 11:06 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1995 36' Classic 36
Ottawa , Ontario
Do you have the diesel pusher on the Spartan chassis (which has air over hydraulic brakes) or are you on a chev P30 chassis?

I'm suspecting the latter, or a fault with your system as the air over hydraulics on the Spartan are very good, but have limited feel. I have never needed to apply a lot of pressure to completely launch things around the motorhome in a panic stop .

If you are on the chevy chassis, I never found the hydroboost brakes that great on my mid 80's one. Don't know however if that was the sytem that was in use by 94.....

John
shadejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 08:12 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Eastern USA , EAstern USA
I have a 1998 30' Land Yacht Motor Home

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducatist2 View Post
hi,

newbie here, just bought '94 land yacht 34 foot Legacy motorhome and drove it home. Seller said had newer brakes and front rotors.