Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-24-2007, 06:51 PM   #1

1996 33' Land Yacht
w , Virginia
Unhappy '96 LY fridge quit working

Hi all,
I'm new to rv'ing so maybe I'm not doing something right, but here goes...

I got this LY about a week ago and wasn't sure how to plug it into the house to get power. I finally figured out I needed an adapter to fit onto the big black power cord so I could run an extension cord from the house to the RV. Done.

The door steps had been working when I opened the coach door, the fridge was working also. There was this AUX battery switch that was in the down position. I read in the manual that it should be up if the motorhome was in use, so I pushed it to the up position. When I did that, the steps stayed in the up position and won't come down when I open the door, and the fridge lights went out. As far as I can tell, all other things in the coach work.

What did I do wrong? I unplugged the AC, started the RV engine, and started the generator. When I did that two days ago, the steps worked and the fridge worked, but not now.

Are there some breakers or fuses somewhere I need to check for the fridge? Are the steps frozen?

airstream96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 09:18 PM   #2

1996 33' Land Yacht
w , Virginia
ok, found two fuses in the 12 volt distribution box behind the drivers seat that were blown. That fixed the fridge.

Where are the breakers/fuses for the steps?? The manual says they are on the wall next to the main door...can't find anything there.
airstream96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:05 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1994 35' Land Yacht Diesel
Franklin NC , North Carolina
Step