Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Classic Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-31-2014, 01:43 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Shop Manuals

The 325 Classic chassis is identified vaguely as the Chevy P30. I am fairly new to the hunt, but the P30 designation seems to be, even apparently in Chevy circles, a somewhat vague and non-specific bit of nomenclature. The VIN identifies the chassis as a P37, which I understand to be the motorhome version of the P30. However, when looking for parts, there seem to be so many sub-classifications and what-ifs and wherefores that identifying for parts purchase purposes as P30 is about as useful as saying that you need a "propeller" for your "airplane."

This vaguery appears to extend to the manuals and documents...

So, can somebody save me some time and expense and send me in the correct direction for a manual that might at least hit somewhere near my 325 Classic chassis?
morlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:56 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1991 30' Airstream 30
San Francisco , California
Great news...it's a Chevy P30, so if you are close to the correct year, parts that were also made for a million step vans all work and are super cheap. Almost any P30 manual or shop book will do the job.
SebasSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:05 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

That really is what I am coming to see. The p30, in various applications, has been in production for EVER! And, there does seem to be enough mechanical similarity that parts are plentiful, cheap, and nearly universal. I ordered a shop manual on CD that should meet my needs.

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
morlach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:55 PM   #4
Rivet Master