Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-21-2021, 04:00 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1983 31' Airstream310
scenery hill , Pennsylvania
Questions concerning a 1983 310

Hello all, Long time lurker, new registree!
I am considering purchasing a 83' 310 that has been sitting for a few years... It's been started and moved every season, but not "driven".
I was at first just looking for a hunting cabin on wheels, meaning one trip and done... 50 miles or so...

But.... It's one owner, good service history, verified 80k, (damn manual's in a baggy) and in remarkably decent shape from the photos. I'm a pretty good BY mechanic, engineer by trade, advanced maintenance man by necessity. I should add that I just LOVE challenges like these...

The plan.
1) Inspect fuel lines, drain some fuel and change the air/FF.
Is there a drain plug on the tank?

Q's: where is the fuel filter?
I'm assuming the Qjet also has a filter screen to the inlet bowl??
Where is the fuel pump located? Classic BB Chevy location or another in the tank?

2) drop the oil and change/inspect belts/hoses

3) Inspect all brake lines/fluid and linings...
Disc all the way around? Shoes?

4)Check PH and level of coolant/ hose condition

5) inspect rubber/psi lugnuts etc.

6) verify necessary electrical systems:
Verify batt voltage, alternator output, lights/blinkers etc

7) verify PS system, no leaks etc.

8) air shocks? I'm assuming they die over time...

9) verify gauges

Where should I be looking for deal breaking rust on the undercarriage?
Any/all comments are welcome, and thanks in advance.
bjornson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2021, 04:54 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1982 28' Airstream 280
_ , _
Typing here on my phone…so short answers!

Fuel filter at inlet on carb.
Fuel filter on inside of passenger side frame rail up by propane tank.
Fuel pump on engine block passenger side.
No fuel pump in tank.