Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2014, 07:48 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
Auto Reset Automotive Circuit Breakers - 12 volt

There are 3 of these circuit breakers in the front of my 91 350 LE right beside the battery isolator. Does anyone know what amperage they should be? I need to replace one and I figure I will just replace all three. I know they are 12V but I'm not sure what amp to order. I think they may be 30 amp but I am not sure. There are no markings on them at all. Thanks for your help. Steve
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 09:20 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Are the wires fairly large which go to the CB's? Like #10? If so, 30 amp may be the correct size. If the wires are smaller, like #14 or so, then probably 15 or 20 amp would be what they are. My '83 310 didn't have any self resetting CB's in that area, so this is only a guess on my part.

Do you know what the CB's protect? That also would give you a clue as to the proper size. If they are near the isolator, and connected to it in any way, they could be charge lines to the batteries, and would be 30+ amps I would think.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 10:41 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
the circuit breaker that has failed protects the air compressor for the rear air bags and that wire is fairly large. I would think a 10 gauge. the 2 other breakers are 14 or 18 I would guess. I will look through the large owner manual for this rig and see if they mention the amperage requirement for these. I may even have the wire diagrams for this coach somewhere. Thank you for your responce
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 10:46 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11,353
Images: 5
All circuit breakers I have seen have, somewhere on them, a stamping or inked spec rating. Usually it is stamped in the metal housing or printed on the bottom (plastic) "board". It will probably require removal to read.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 02:18 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
I will check again for some markings. These are plastic housing CB and are a little crusty from age. Thank you for weighing in on this. Steve
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 05:54 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Wildwood , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,236
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Steve,

If you can wait till tomorrow afternoon when it is light I will be happy to go out and see if I can see if mine have any markings on them.
__________________
Dave and Felicia
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:57 AM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
I looked again at the CB I removed and the only markings on it are AUX and BAT molded in to the top next to the 2 terminals.
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:38 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Wildwood , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,236
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Can you attach a picture so I know what exactly I am looking for in the limited daylight when I get home


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Dave and Felicia
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 01:11 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
i hope this worked

Click image for larger version

Name:	CB.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	345.1 KB
ID:	227919
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 02:16 PM   #10
Slowpoke
 
Gnorts's Avatar
 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 255
I'm seeing what looks like undercoating on and around the breakers - are they underneath the vehicle? If so, that's a stoopid place to install them; no wonder one has failed.

These thermal resetting breakers are notoriously inaccurate, and these are lookin' pretty bad, with lots of rust on the connectors. They're cheap - replace 'em all, and clean up all the connections, and spray the finished connections with insulating varnish to keep the weather out.

Amperage ratings are probably on the bottoms, so removal of the failed one will be necessary. Be sure to disconnect the battery's ground wire before doing the work.
__________________
Like the tortoise, travelin' slow with the house on our back
2012 FC27FB "Ted Zeppelin"
2010 Tundra Crewmax Platinum "Silver Rhino"
Gnorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 02:26 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
These are located under the front access panel to the engine to the right beside the isolator. I think they are covered in road grime as it wipes right off. Yes the wires are rusty and corroded and maybe a little cooked. My plan is to replace all of them and remake the jumpers and clean everything up. I just need to order the correct CB. They are not expensive but I think I do need to get the amp rating correct. I post here to find out if anyone here has done this before and to find out what did they buy to fix this. There are not any markings on these CB's other than Batt and Aux.
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 04:16 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Wildwood , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,236
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Steve

All mine have 30A on them. So I guess they are just there for power distribution to the sub fuse panelsClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1417562132.030738.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	790.9 KB
ID:	227929



Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Dave and Felicia
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 08:32 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
Wow your wires are a little rusty like mine. I think you're rIght about these feeding the fuse box except the one in the middle. I know that one goes direct to the rear air compressor. When your ready to renew yours I will have the 411 to help you. Thanks again, Dave. Oh and you listing Good Sam as your tow vehicle made me laugh.
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 09:02 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
On those type of self resetting CB's I have found the rating stenciled on the bottom of the unit, so they may have to be removed to read that (if it is there).

Those terminals are mostly in bad condition, and you definitely should replace them when you do the job. The one short jumper even looks to have overheated with the yellow insulating material deformed.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 04:00 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Wildwood , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,236
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Steve

I plan on replacing them and cleaning up the connectors this winter. I also going to do the battery isolator as well. Any info on source of supply would be great!




Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Dave and Felicia
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 10:48 PM   #16
Slowpoke
 
Gnorts's Avatar
 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxbuoy View Post
Any info on source of supply would be great!
30 amp. In-Line Circuit Breaker - Perpendicular Mount Bracket Pollak Accessories and Parts 38630

__________________
Like the tortoise, travelin' slow with the house on our back
2012 FC27FB "Ted Zeppelin"
2010 Tundra Crewmax Platinum "Silver Rhino"
Gnorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 02:49 AM   #17
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Wildwood , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,236
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Thanks!
__________________
Dave and Felicia
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 08:06 AM   #18
3 Rivet Member
 
t7389sg's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Laurel , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 222
Images: 2
This is what I ordered from www.delcity.net
I needed 2 with one kind of mounting bracket and 1 with a different type of bracket and I ordered some type of rubber cover for each as well. I will report back how well they fit.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 71130 30 Amp Auto Reset Plastic Circuit Breaker$2.14 $2.14
2 72255 30 Amp Auto Reset Plastic Circuit Breaker$2.14 $4.28
3 907201 Stud Mount Circuit Breaker Insulator, Red$0.61800 $1.85
1 DC2015 2015 Del City Catalog (1 MIN) $0.00 $0.00
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Shipping: $7.99
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Total: $16.26





Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
t7389sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 09:52 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Wildwood , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,236
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Great, will wait for your report before proceeding.

I have to locate a compatible isolator in the mean time. Not to mention a whole lotta stuff to do on the inside!


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Dave and Felicia
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 10:46 AM   #20
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,169
I've had good results dealing with delcity.
__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propane auto shut off reset mayco LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 2 09-30-2014 12:17 PM
Can't reset circuit breaker evamcmahan Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 03-21-2010 08:54 AM
Electrical Newbie with circuit breaker that won't reset...help please! Kerina Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 05-04-2008 09:18 AM
Circuit breakers,94 33ft Motor Yacht rayschell Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 4 07-10-2005 11:35 AM
Electric Heaters Tripping Circuit Breakers streamlean General Motorhome Topics 11 01-20-2004 09:29 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.