Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2017, 08:54 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1991 25' Airstream 250
Oxford , Oxfordshire
Airlift or Firestone rear bags?

I'm looking to replace my rear airbags. It seems the bags you need vary slightly by wheelbase. There is one set for 137" and 158.5" wheelbase, and another for anything larger. Anyhow, my 250 is 158.5, so I'm looking at the Firestone

http://www.truckspring.com/suspensio...rite-6859.aspx

or the AirRide 5000:

https://www.airliftcompany.com/shop/88203/

Does anyone have a view on which is the better product?

In addition, should I take this opportunity to buy an entire new kit and swap everything out?

thanks
Nick
Boom Sounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 09:26 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Nick,

I have been using Firestone airbag units for many years. Very satisfied with their performance. When I purchased my 2011 Sprinter, Firestone had ceased making bags for the Sprinter chassis due to some legal issues relating to several overloading situations that resulted in legal action.......their many warnings about NOT overloading the rigs not withstanding.

I went with Air Ride as it was the only one available that would fit. While the construction was not as robust as the Firestone, they are still working after 6 years the Sprinter.

I would definitely look at Pac Brake's air bags, as they are probably the best built on the market but are not widely available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boom Sounds View Post
I'm looking to replace my rear airbags. It seems the bags you need vary slightly by wheelbase. There is one set for 137" and 158.5" wheelbase, and another for anything larger. Anyhow, my 250 is 158.5, so I'm looking at the Firestone

http://www.truckspring.com/suspensio...rite-6859.aspx

or the AirRide 5000:

https://www.airliftcompany.com/shop/88203/