Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Classic Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-26-2019, 08:33 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Nashville , Tennessee
Air Compressor Power Issue

Over the winter the rear suspension air compressor on my '86 345 stopped working. I typically start the rig and inflate the airbags once or twice a month when in storage. The motor isn't getting power. I show 12v to the air pressure switch, but get nothing when I jump the switch and go direct to the compressor. I applied external 12v power to the motor and it fired right up. My multimeter shows nearly 12v on the line I jumped to the compressor. I made sure it was grounded properly...nothing. I'm a novice where 12v power is involved. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated? Thanks for your time!
freedombro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 06:54 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Churubusco , Indiana
They ran a really long skinny wire from the battery to the dash back to the compressor, the wire isn't thick enough and is failing, my 310 unit had a similar failure

Mine is now powered by a toggle switch in the battery compartment, you can also try re-running heavier gauge wire to the dash/adding a relay
Old 05-28-2019, 01:16 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1982 31' Airstream 310
champaign , Illinois
A good deal of folks here have rewired their compressor when they install a replacement.
A common way to do that is to run a fairly heavy wire (#8 or 6) from your battery to the compressor compartment with an inline fuse. Use your existing OEM wire as a trigger or switch wire with both feeding a combination relay/pressure switch like this one. https://www.amazon.com/VIAIR-90110-P.../dp/B000FQ1HM4