Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Classic Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-10-2017, 11:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Coarsegold , California
1986 345 tag axle question

Hi: I am new to this so I need advice about the tag axle on a 1986 345. I need to drive it 800 miles home and am not sure about the tag axle. This has been siting so the tag axle probably does not work, I have researched this topic here and need to know if I will hurt the drive axle if the tag axle will not apply pressure to the ground. Should I have more air in the drive axle air bags? I think the drive axle should be 70 on 80 psi off? I believe the tag axles are available from Andy but the drums are unobtainable. I plan on being as light as possible for the trip home, drain water tanks etc, but what should I do to keep damage to a minimum? Thanks in advance. PS I will have many more questions in the future but right now I just need to get it home. I will check all the usual stuff before I depart.
Mr Sunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 11:56 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1984 34.5' Airstream 345
Franklin Park , Illinois
Sooo here's what I know about the tag axle's
The drive axle is held up by the airbags
if you researched it here, I believe you'll find that the airbags should be about 10 1/2 inches tall from the top of the airbag to the bottom of the airbag. I run about 100 pounds PSI in the air holding tank
I don't know if there's a way of knowing how much pressure is actually in the bag itself
(I would like someone to chime in on this)