Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Argosy Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-23-2007, 11:34 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1991 25' Airstream 250
Oxford , Oxfordshire
Argosy motorhomes - improving MPG

Hi all,

I'm planning to import a small Argosy (20/24) or Airstream Motorhome (250) to the UK. I'll probably go for the 20 or 24. Anyhow, here is the rub (as we say in the UK). Petrol in the UK is very expensive (8 dollars a gallon) which is a killer for taking the children camping. So, I need to work out everything I can do to improve the fuel efficiency before I import (cause maintenance in the UK will be more difficult) and probably get the work done in the US. I'm not very technical (yet) but was hoping to swap out the 454 engine for a 350 diesel and go for an overdrive unit. Can anyone let me know whether there is anything else I can do to improve the MPG (I need to try and get to 15 minimum). Note that diesel is cheaper in Europe than petrol/gas so this is my preferred route. Any suggestions or thoughts gratefully recieved.

cheers

Nick
Boom Sounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 02:53 PM   #2
The Hawk's Lair

1985 34.5' Airstream 345
BACK WOODS , Minnesota
Yes, try to find one of the Airstream diesels. They have a small Isuzu diesel already installed.

AIRSTREAM 345 TURBO-DIESEL
VFW, LEGION, NRA

cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 03:09 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
1954 26' Romany Cruiser
1960 26' Overlander
Rockingham County , New Hampshire
Send a message via AIM to balrgn Send a message via Yahoo to balrgn
I get around 12 with my 20'er. The Crate 350 bolt right in. The rear end ratio will limit you, I have 411 gears, drives nice @ 55 mph, 65 mph my milage starts to drop.