Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Sovereign > 1965-1969 Sovereign
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-10-2014, 11:25 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
Everett , Washington
'69 newbie bathroom questions

Hi all, I'm brand new to airstreams and to the forum (and to any forum in general). We just bought a 31' 1969 Sovereign. The rear bathroom seems to be in decent shape, with the floor even feeling solid when poked around (as I read to do). It's a bit yellowish with age though, and on the 'ceiling' there seems to be a couple small patches or something, that have been done at some point. I'd like to paint the tub/sink/walls white and have read up a bit on doing that. My question is about the material of those parts… Are they all fiberglass? Or are some parts fiberglass and some plastic? I'd hate to tackle the project with the kit I bought today for prepping and painting fiberglass (the exact kit someone posted worked for them in a different model/year), only to find that it works great on the tub but not the walls, or something like that, and have a big mess to deal with.
Thanks!
keepitsimple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 12:17 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
Everett , Washington
pics of my bathroom

Here's a few pictures of my bathroom if this helps. Fiberglass? Plastic? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	69 Sovereign bathroom.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	51.4 KB
ID:	218863   Click image for larger version

Name:	69 Sovereign Bath.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	218864  

keepitsimple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:29 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado