Old 07-31-2013, 06:30 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1968 30' Sovereign
Madisonville , Texas
1968 Sovereign restoration / where to begin?

I have a 31ft 1968 sovereign international that I recently purchased. I have gutted the interior and I am now ready to begin restoration. I am new to this type of work so I do not know where I should start the restoration. The list of things that I am going to need to do is as follows:

*repair frame at back of airstream (rust)
*remove interior skins and possibly replace?(they have been painted and seem to have some type of vinyl?? over the aluminum. I don't know what the material is)
*rewire
*remove floor pans
*replace plywood floor

I don't know what I should do first??? I was thinking of taking off the interior skins first, but I don't know if this is correct. I would appreciate any help that anyone can give me.

I have read many of the threads and I have learned a great deal about how to do the projects, but I am not sure where to begin.

Thanks for the help!

Heath

vincentheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:25 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1972 31' Sovereign
Lexington , Minnesota
Welcome Heath!
You will need to remove the lower interior skins to replace your plywood floor anyway, so I would advise removing them all. Make sure you label them as you remove them. They may have been painted over, but what you are also seeing is vinyl "wallpaper" Airstream used. If it's in good condition and well adhered, you could leave it in place and paint it after cleaning it really really well.
There are a lot of us on the forums that are doing reno's or refurbishing or restoring, depending on taste. There are many threads and blogs to read. I would advise you to do some quality reading to answer many of your questions. There's even a thread that lists all those threads for you. Good luck!

Kay

Minno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:54 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas