RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 12-29-2020, 10:25 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Lacey , Washington
Help Please...Bambi/Toyota combo

I am looking at Airstreams - The 22 foot Bambi. I am new to this and not sure of my truck's ability to tow a 22 foot Bambi. I have a new 2021 toyota tacoma TRD Off Road, V6, Long bed. I am not sure if the truck can tow this. It looks like the Bambi 22 footer may be pushing the weight limit. Do any of you perhaps have this combination? And if so, is it safe and doable? What is your experience? Hey, thank you very much for reading this and any advice would be much appreciated. TomQ
TomQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 11:35 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2018 20' Flying Cloud
Fort Collins , Colorado
I know nothing about this combo. I do know you can search the forums for towing and find all the numbers you need to look up. Like hitch weights and truck payload. Look through the info and get started by writing numbers down. Good luck!
AbbyA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 05:59 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
The Tacoma is on the smaller side of the truck range, but it it has a towing capacity of 6,400 lb which when taking into account the tongue weight limit of 640 should be derated for travel trailers to 5,400 lb. for safety against sway and oversteer. So it will certainly safely and competently and even reasonably comfortably tow the 22 foot Bambi which has a max weight of 5,000 lb and loaded for camping will have a tongue weight of 600-680 lb. You will want a lightweight but quality sway control hitch with Some light WD. An EAZ Lift Elite or any of the similar knock off models marketed by Curt, Reese, Husky, Camco, etc. or an Andersen. These are lightweight so they don't add as much to tongue weight and they perform very well.