Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2022, 01:37 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Missoula , Montana
Can I tow it?

Hi! I'm new to the Airstream life, but I'm looking at buying a 2013 19 foot Bambi. I have a 2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser that I'm planning to tow it with. Do you think I can safely tow it? Thanks!
streamluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 02:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
I vote, Yes!
The FJ is rated to tow 5000 pounds and has a 1300 pound payload .
The Bambi Weight with LP & Batteries: 3,650 lbs. Cargo Capacity 1,350 lbs.
So it puts you right at the limit of the FJ specs, but the FJ is a pretty robust vehicle, plus it would be fun to have off roading too! The FJ is a 4.0 L. V-6, and I'd think the 5000 pound limit is due to the hitch more than the rest of the car.

Soon, you'll get other opinions, some recommending a F-350 diesel as a minimum.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 02:25 PM   #3
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

According to the never trustworthy internet your vehicle has a tow limit of 5,000 pounds. If you are looking at the trailer I think you are, it has a max weight of 4,500 pounds. So far so good.

The receiver on your FJ has a weight limit stamped on it. For whatever reason, I can't quite see it from here ( bad eyesight / to much beer ... take your pick). It would not be uncommon for it to be a 500 pound rated part if it's factory stock. If you go aftermarket, there are a range of options.

The tongue weight on the trailer is rated at 550 pounds and likely is heavier than that. The receiver also supports the hitch and shank which can add another couple hundred pounds depending on what you get.

If the receiver really is rated at 500 pounds max, you would need to swap it out. There are a lot of shops happy to do this sort of thing.