Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2021, 07:30 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2021 16' Bambi
Shelburne , Vermont
2021 Bambi 16 Power Controller for Lithium

Newbie here. I have a 2021 Bambi 16RB on order or the end of this month. I'm trying to figure out if the power controller not the standard/stock factory version, without the premium plus package, can accommodate lithium. I plan to order two Battle Born 100Ah batteries to help with boon docking.

I've asked two different dealers whether any mods are needed. One said I need a "lower control unit" and the other says it's just a flip of the switch. I talked to BattleBorn, and they said to get a new Victron unit as Airstream changes what they put in their rigs. I've also looked on the 2021 parts list, but it's not really helpful.

I've seen in other threads that all '21 models have the Lithium capability. Is that true for the Bambi line, and if so, is it adequate?

Thanks for any help. I love the amount of info in here and all the help everyone provides!
jbern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 10:30 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member

2020 16' Bambi
Patuxent River , MD
I've started looking into this, but haven't pulled the trigger, because of price, but I don't really like the AGM batteries (standard batteries on Airstreams with the one 90V solar panel, factory installed). I would say to go with Battle Born's recommendation. I think this is an area to be confident you have the right controller to manage those expensive batteries.
PorterSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 02:11 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2019 22' Sport
Carlsbad , California