Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2022, 08:38 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2022 20' Basecamp
Rochester , Michigan
Propane Fill

Total newbie question but…..do you get your propane tanks filled or do you just swap them out at a local gas station like I do for my grill at home?
ErickfromMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 08:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 25' International
West Lake Hills , Texas
Fill them.

At Tractor Supply.

Go inside to customer service or checkout. Park near the big sign that says we fill propane tanks. Turn off the valve on top of the canister. Disconnect from the trailer. They fill. Chat them up while they fill so you can find the best Thai food nearby. Reconnect to the trailer. Pay the nice lady at checkout.
Fungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 08:47 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2023 28' International
Mercer County , New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErickfromMI View Post
Total newbie question but…..do you get your propane tanks filled or do you just swap them out at a local gas station like I do for my grill at home?
If you have the 20# tanks, you can just get them swapped if you want but remember when they are filled, there is usually more propane put into them for the same price. A typical refill will fill it with 20# of propane while you only get about 15# with most swaps.

If you have the 30# tanks, you need to get the refilled as I am not aware of any places that swap that size.
jeffb831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 04:26 AM   #4
Site Team

1994 25' Excella
Waukesha , Wisconsin
Many U-Haul locations also fill propane tanks. Same for many Ace Hardware & True Value Hardware stores, but for these you usually have to remove the tanks from the trailer. Local propane supply places also fill them and often have the best price.
1999 Suburban LS 2500 w/7.4L V8