Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-13-2007, 09:07 PM   #1
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

2000 25' Excella
Kingston , Tennessee
Pilot Light

Was wondering if anyone else has had the problem of keeping there heater pilot light lit? We can light the furnace and it will heat up the trailer, then when it kicks off, the pilot light goes off to. My husband blew out the lines but it didnt help. It helped all the other appliances, but not the heater. Any ideas?
Thank you!
https://www.etsy.com/your/listings
Silver Threads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 10:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
First I am no expert in this area and others out there undoubtably know more than me.

It could be multiple causes. A bad regulator on the tanks. dirty pilot orifice or bad thermocuple is what I would shoot for first. The water column pressure on the regulator should be about 11 inches or the pilot flame can float off. Try cleaning the pilot orifice with brake cleaner but don't poke anything into it.

If you have an NT22 furnace, as I have in my Tradewind, there is an old recall because the crossover tube between the blower and combustion chamber falls apart and you can be pumping carbon monoxide into the trailer.

My experience in finding someone to service a furnace of this vintage is no one will touch it because of liability. Sorry, I'm in the same boat.
Old 02-13-2007, 10:09 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

2000 25' Excella
Kingston , Tennessee
Thanks, I will tell him to try it, it sure cant hurt. We bought the propane/ co2 detector, it hasnt went off yet, so i guess that is a good sign.
Old 02-14-2007, 04:24 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Tammy,