Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-14-2011, 07:49 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1964 26' Overlander
Richmond , Virginia
Amazon Propane tanks

Is there any reason I shouldn't be considering this option for my AS?

I'm really new to this, just got a 64 Overlander, and let the rusted out old tanks with the PO.

Amazon.com: Worthington 297297 33-Pound Aluminum Forklift Propane Cylinder With Gauge And Fill Valve: Patio, Lawn & Garden
robwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 07:54 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1981 27' Excella II
mays landing , South Jersey
I may be wrong, but I believe these tanks have to be horizontal. Sal.
TAC N.J. 17
WBCCI 24740
noreen&sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 08:11 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 27' Overlander
Central , Ohio
From Vintage Trailer Supply:

30 Lb. (7.1 Gallon) Vertical Aluminum LP Tank

Or watch for a set of used ones.
Ganglin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 11:48 AM   #4
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Forklift cylinders are set up for liquid withdrawal and will not work properly for trailer use. The 1 1/4" acme valve threads won't fit the 1 5/16" on the regulator on your trailer, by design.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 12:44 PM   #5
Rivet Master

1964 26' Overlander
Richmond , Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammer View Post
Forklift cylinders are set up for liquid withdrawal and will not work properly for trailer use. The 1 1/4" acme valve threads won't fit the 1 5/16" on the regulator on your trailer, by design.