Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > International > 2002 - 2005 International
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-11-2005, 07:21 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Cool Happy Campers!

My Wife and I were able to finally bring our CCD home to this weekend. I was amazed at how easy it was for me to tow! I was able to get a great deal on a Reese trunnion bar weight distributing hitch from the dealer. I combined it with a sway bar and a Tekonsha Voyager brake controller. I finally was running with proper brakes. I had been towing my tent trailer for 5 years without a brake controller. I was told at the time of purchase that I didnt need one for a 3600lb trailer
Pulling Pearl(my Wife named her) through New York state was a breeze. The nine hour drive north into the mountains was not a problem. It seemed as if we were just being followed by a big silver bus. I dont think the size of the bed will be an issue either. My dog may have to find his own digs.
I would like to say that the service I received from this dealer ( Holiday on Wheels,Patterson N.Y) was second to none. The Staff treated us great. I hope they are all this nice. I cant wait to make my first official trip. Canuks
Canuks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 08:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Welcome and congratulations!

Good to hear trip home smooth, and newly acquired trailer willing to politely follow the tow vehicle.. You didn't specify what was pulling it, but lots of posts and testimonials indicate the bigger and tougher the tow vehicle, the more controlled the ride... Load leveling and anti-sway hitch components are also critical to keeping the parade in formation..