Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Classic > 2001 - 2005 Classic
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-19-2009, 08:40 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2005 25' Classic
LaSalle , Michigan
Water Heater Care - 2005 Classic

I'm kind of new to RV maintenance and general care. I've been told that some people when camping will leave the hot water heater turned off except when they are about to use it. I guess the reasoning behind this is that the water heater will last longer if you cycle it off and on only when needed. Does anyone see a problem leaving the water heater on for a week or two at a time? To clarify, I'm only talking about those times when having full electrical hook-up, not running of gas when boon docking. Thanks for the input.
Redcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:57 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Water Heater Care

Greetings Redcobra!

To me, it has always been a matter of personal prefernece, particularly when an manual pilot-type model water heater is involved. I have had my water heater (Overlander) running continuously for as much as four months (when it was my home during a cross-country move) without identifiable problem. Most of the time, the pilot is the only part that is active as the main burner only cycles infrequently when the hot water is not being used. Another reason that I don't like to deal with the water heater any more often than absolutely necessary as both of my water heaters are cantankerous beasts to light when setting up camp -- once they are up and running they run quite efficiently (both are relatively recent Atwood replacements for the originals).

Good luck with your research!

Kevin