Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-08-2013, 08:35 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Rochester , Michigan
Winterizing an Interstate?

Hello, I am a newbie at this whole thing...Could someone please explain to me the steps on what I need to do to winterize my Interstate? I live in Michigan so the winters can be pretty brutal. Thank you.
Interstate1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:57 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Rochester , Michigan
I did find this to be helpful... but still somewhat confusing >>>>>>>>>>>

Here is a helpful document from the Airstream website: http://www.airstream.com/files/libra...2a30ebe0b4.pdf
This document gives you generic winterization steps and you will need to adjust/modify for the specifics of your Interstate which you can find in the Interstate Owners Manual; see Plumbing (Section G).

If your Interstate will be experiencing temps below freezing, you need to spend the time to get this process right! Breaks in interior water lines can be very difficult to find and repair and if a leak goes undetected the damage caused can be very costly to fix.
Old 09-08-2013, 09:11 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2024 Interstate 19
Fulton , Maryland
Welcome!!
Winterizing was discussed in length a few weeks ago. Go to this thread for details.
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f240...ate-95019.html

Also be aware that the owners manual may not be totally up to date on the details. My 2013 was delivered with a manual that had many errors on details of variuos valves needed to winterize. I think it was not updated from 2012 as I got an early 2013 model. Hopefully Airstream has updated the 2014 owners manual.