Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-19-2021, 11:46 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Boulder City , Nevada
Total Newbie - looking at Interstate SV

I’m at the early stages of looking at a 24’ AS Interstate SV. I have several options from my local AS dealer - all Mercedes diesel engines on the Mercedes platform, ranging from 18K to 88K miles.

I would appreciate any and all input and suggestions for this Newbie (never had any type RV previously) - questions to ask, considerations, books to read, etc.

Thank you.
GypsyNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 12:01 PM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Right now the whole used RV market ( not just AS and not just Interstates ) is a bit nutty. Prices are at a significant premium over historical averages. That's not to say you should not buy one, only that you *will* pay quite a bit for one.

The alternative is to buy new. If you go for "new on the lot ready to go", you probably will pay a fairly steep premium. Factory orders can be done with discounts off MSRP that are not quite as good as a few years ago. However the premium on the factory order seems to be far less than the "boost" on the others.

With a factory order, you *will* wait a while. Is that early spring or early summer? Who knows. I'm not suggesting that waiting is a good thing. Folks should get out and use their RV's. It's just something to factor in.