Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-04-2015, 06:45 PM   #21
Rivet Master

2013 Interstate Coach
Townsend , Tennessee
Lew, this is what you and I discussed earlier. If it turns out to be an issue, I will dump the polycrystalline panel.

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
Old 11-04-2015, 07:46 PM   #22
Rivet Master

2006 22' Interstate
League City , Texas
I'm no solar expert but if you wire the panels in series it shouldn't matter if the voltages are different.
LB_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 07:50 PM   #23
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Retrofitting solar in a T1N Interstate

Quote:
Originally Posted by LB_3 View Post
I'm no solar expert but if you wire the panels in series it shouldn't matter if the voltages are different.

Yes it will. It's similar to using two different types if batteries or ones of different age in the same battery bank.

Lew Farber
RVIA/RVDA Nationally Certified Master Tech
Master Tech Energy Systems, Inc.
AM Solar Certified Installation Center
Lifeline Batteries**Magnum Inverters
541-490-6357
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 08:33 PM   #24
Rivet Master

2013 Interstate Coach
Townsend , Tennessee
My panels are in parallel, not series. A 12 volt system.....The voltage balance is important as Lew points out, especially with a MPPT controller.

Old 11-04-2015, 08:44 PM   #25
Rivet Master

2013 Interstate Coach
Townsend , Tennessee
Sorry guys....seems we are getting off topic for the OP.

Old 11-04-2015, 09:03 PM   #26
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by InterBlog View Post