Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-01-2021, 04:34 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Tuscaloosa , Alabama
"Realistic" expectations for battery when boondocking

Hi Airstream Interstate GT owners,
I am very new to my 2018 AirstreamGT..We purchased it used and have been traveling PT since Mid-December. Most of the time we've been at locations with some hook ups etc..but recently began traveling to Ntl forest campgrounds/state campground that have no hookups.

My questions relate to battery life. Our unit has 3 solar panels..but, recently experienced a series of unfortunate events.

As in full battery discharge overnight and needing to jump start my vehicle. First time, I figured the battery was OEM (so I replaced the battery)..and the 2 house batteries were replaced by the previous owner in Aug 2020.

This past weekend, off I go camping, armed with the new AGM battery..and the same thing happened. A fully discharged vehicle battery by the morning. So, I need to do a sanity check and make sure I am not expecting too much from my airstream when off-grid vs that I have a battery problem.

So, looking for some experienced feedback.
If camping overnight, with no hook-ups, and assuming the battery read 100% (HSE 13.0/CHS13.1) at the beginning of the evening.
What are the expectations I should have?
I know it 'depends' on how much electrical draw is occurring, so from your experience what is reasonable?

What can or can not be turned on overnight?
Can we have lights on for any duration of time?
Can we have the refrigerator on or not at all?
Can we leave the water pump on?
Can we have any ancillary items on?
and the bigger question that I am still trying to wrap my mind around is, why would the vehicle battery be draining if the electrical use should be coming from the 2 house batteries and not the vehicle battery.