Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-13-2020, 06:53 AM   #1

2019 ​Interstate Nineteen
Newtown , Pennsylvania
Smile Pros & cons of Interstate 19 4x4

hello! My husband and I have ZERO experience and just bought an Interstate 19 so we can travel across country. We have the option of waiting another couple of months for delivery and getting the 4x4 instead. Our daughter and son-in-law do like to camp, so obviously the 4x4 would make it easier to do together, but nothing is ever as simple as that. We need your HELP!
BABBY C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 06:04 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2013 Interstate Coach
Idaho Falls , Idaho
Hi
As you see from my profile I am from Idaho. We love our 4x4 pickups. However when it comes to camping are you really going to take your multi thousand camper somewhere where you need to put it into 4 wheel drive.

We have a 24 foot Interstate Mercedes 3500 with duallys. There are very few camping places I would not take it. I am not going to climb mountains with it but would you really want to go on roads that require 4 wheels drive with your coach? I have driven in blizzards with it and didn’t need 4 wheel drive.

I think you would find you would be putting it in 4 wheel drive very seldom regardless of where you go. And I am sure you will pay $$$$$ for the 4 wheel drive option.

Just my humble opinion.
Passin Thru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 07:05 PM   #3
Rivets?

1992 29' Excella
2010 22' Interstate
Van By The River , Georgia
It's ultimately a personal decision but maybe some insight from others will help you make the right choice for your situation.