Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-28-2018, 12:00 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
HOUSTON , Texas
Out of state purchase, sales tax and registration

I am a Texas resident, purchasing a used Interstate motor home in Florida next week from a dealer. I assume I do not pay sales tax in Florida but to Texas when I return. However in searching the forum I have seen discussions regarding Florida DMV collecting reciprocal states sales tax at time of purchase.

I have never experienced such and do not know if Texas is a reciprocal state.

Would anyone know how this process works?

And if I register and pay sales tax in Texas what documentation will be needed by Texas?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
John1048 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 12:09 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2018 Interstate Lounge Ext
AUSTIN , TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by John1048 View Post
I am a Texas resident, purchasing a used Interstate motor home in Florida next week from a dealer. I assume I do not pay sales tax in Florida but to Texas when I return. However in searching the forum I have seen discussions regarding Florida DMV collecting reciprocal states sales tax at time of purchase.

And if I register and pay sales tax in Texas what documentation will be needed by Texas?

Hey John

I just went through this. Bought my AI in Mississippi. The dealer should calculate Texas state taxes for you. If you are financing, they will work it into the final cost and you'll finance the total including taxes. They will then cut you a check back for the taxes since you'll have to pay those when you register the vehicle in Texas.

How this helps.