Old 07-26-2018, 06:47 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Libertyville , Illinois
Magnum inverter question

My magnum is not powering up at all on DC power and is giving a “Fault ! No Comm” when connected to Shore or generator. I suspect this is a problem with the SB-164 solenoid not opening.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0005.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	298.8 KB
ID:	318120

When I check the voltage from the left red terminal to black I get 12 volts with main dc switch off or on. And 0-1 volts from the right red terminal to black. I’m no expert but I assume when the RC power is turned on the solenoid should close and I should get 12 v from either of the terminals to black

Am I understanding this correctly? If so any recommendations for a replacement solenoid?

Thanks
Eric
Schmitte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 07:29 PM   #2
Contributing Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
You are correct. There should be continuity through the solenoid. That solenoid is a total piece of junk and never should have been used in an Interstate.

I replaced mine with a heavy-duty battery switch mounted to the right of the fuse panel. I can turn it off manually if I store the AI without external power.
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 07:49 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

Libertyville , Illinois
Thanks!
Just ordered this one...
Cole Hersee 24213 12V 200A Continuous Solenoid
Old 07-27-2018, 09:45 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bellevue , Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmitte View Post
Thanks!
Just ordered this one...
Cole Hersee 24213 12V 200A Continuous Solenoid
That will be another power hug. The right solution is to get a battery disconnect and put it in the path. Or just bypass it and know that there will always be some power consumption.
amirm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 05:36 AM   #5
3 Rivet Member

Libertyville , Illinois